Esbjörn Svensson Trio e.s.t.

301 - 2 Vinyl LP

  • Format: Vinyl (also available as CD )
  • Cat No.: ACTLP 9029-1
  • Barcode: 614427902917
  • German Release: 30/03/2012
  • Genre: Piano Jazz, Swedish Jazz

The legacy – part II: Further original recordings by the legendary Esbjörn Svensson Trio, recorded during their very last session at Studio 301 in Sydney, Australia. The glorious echo of the unforgotten Trio and the tribute to the early gone innovator of jazz.

Only digitally available

301 In January 2007 e.s.t. were on tour in Asia and Australia performing shows in Tokyo, Osaka, Yokohama, Jakarta, Perth and Sydney. It was their third tour of Japan and their second time on the fifth continent and the venues and audiences had become noticeably bigger. Only a few weeks before they had finished their triumphant tour of Germany performing their now legendary “Live in Hamburg” concert (awarded ‘Album of the Decade’ by the London TIMES). It was undoubtedly the prime time of the style defining jazz band of the Noughties. Esbjörn Svensson, Magnus Öström and Dan Berglund decided to rent the famous Studio 301 in Sydney for their off-days in the middle of the Australian tour and jammed for two consecutive days to develop new songs and material. Altogether they recorded 9 hours of music. “Leucocyte” became the first release fr...

line up

Esbjörn Svensson / grand piano, electronics, transistor radio
Dan Berglund / double bass, electronics
Magnus Öström / drums, electronics, voices

Recording Information

Performed and produced by e.s.t.
Recorded January 2007 at Studio 301, Sydney, Australia

All songs composed by Esbjörn Svensson, Dan Berglund and Magnus Öström